Castle to Crane Entries Close 14 September


Crews have until 1800 BST (1700 GMT) on 14 September to get their entries in for Castle to Crane 2020. The race is a five mile time trial to be completed on your own waters in a time window between 1200 GMT (1300 BST) on Friday 18 September 2020 and 1200 GMT (1300 BST) on Sunday 20 September.  Crews are responsible for ensuring that they start and finish the five mile time trial within this window.  Their results should be submitted to the organisers as soon as practical after completion of the challenge and must be submitted by 1300 GMT (1400 BST) on Sunday 20 September. Entry is free and is open to any fixed seat rowing boat. We already have a wide range of craft represented, from a variety of countries: Scotland, England, Northern Ireland, Eire, Netherlands, Spain, Australia. The more the merrier. Times are given in GMT, to make it easier for international athletes to make the conversion to their local time zone. There is no upper limit on the number of entries, but there is a time limit on getting them in, as set out above!

Enter by Clicking on this Link to the Castle to Crane Website, where you will also find the rules of racing, FAQs, pictures of some of the boats that make up the fleet, and results from previous castle to crane races.

You set the course, which should be out and back and five miles long, and on completion submit your time to the organisers, on the results form. The results form will be e mailed out to all entrants, after entries have closed.

Don’t wait to the last minute to get your entry in. You will be able to change the age and gender categories of the crew on the results sheet, should you have last minute changes of personnel. If you are not able to get on the water for any reason, don’t worry your crew can still take part. Simply enter as a crew you would hope to row with, and then complete one of the “alternative challenges” set out in the rules. Theses are to walk, run, wheel or kayak for a five mile course, with all members of the crew completing the challenge, but only one time being submitted. You will still be able to feel part of a fantastic world wide community of coastal rowers!

The Navigatio Santander team has done its first training on the route chosen for the five miles at home.
Castle to Crane – Passing Dumbarton Castle 2019 (photo Steve Thomson)

Comments are closed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close